Council on Aging

Mission Statement: The mission of the Brewster Council on Aging is to support and advocate for older adults and their families by providing programs, services, and resources that promote independent living and quality of life.

Hours: Open to the public Tuesday through Thursday, 8am to 4pm. (Staff available by phone and email Monday and Friday.) Closed weekends and holidays.

Building: Our building was built in 1881 as the Town Hall.  Most people recognize our building as the “Big, Historic, Yellow Victorian Building” next door to the Fire Station.

The Council on Aging Board consists of Brewster residents who advocate for seniors to help maximize their independence and quality of life.  They support programs and services to meet seniors’ health, economic, intellectual, social, and cultural needs.

Steve Holmes 6/30/2024
Sharon Tennstedt 6/30/2022
Penny Holeman 6/30/2023
Jay Green 6/30/2023
Andrea Nevins 6/30/2024
Laura Usher 6/30/2024
Janet Stolzer 6/30/2024


Staff:

Denise Rego, Director drego@brewster-ma.gov
Regina Egan, Administrative Assistant (35 hours) regan@brewster-ma.gov
Lauren Zeller, Senior Department Assistant (35 hours) lzeller@brewster-ma.gov
Lisa Donovan, Program Coordinator (35 hours)  ldonovan@brewster-ma.gov
Peter Pettengill, Transportation Driver (40 hours) ppettengill@brewster-ma.gov
Brenda Locke, Outreach Worker (35 hours) blocke@brewster-ma.gov
Debra Johnson, Part-time Outreach Worker (19 hours) djohnson@brewster-ma.gov
Steve Holmes, Part-Time Transportation Driver  


Inclement Weather Policy: If Nauset Regional Schools are closed, there will be NO activities and transportation at the Brewster Senior Center. If the Brewster Town Hall is closed, then the Brewster Senior Center will be closed. 

Other Numbers:
COA Nutrition Site--Meals On Wheels Daily Lunch Program: Maria Emmet 896-5070
COA Transportation--B-Bus, Personal Car Drivers, Medical Van: 896-2737
Elder Abuse Hotline: 1-800-922-2275

The COA has been involved in a process to examine the role of the COA and has developed an Age Friendly Action Plan.

Our newsletters are available online.

Agendas & Minutes

Applications, Forms, Newsletters & Documents

Director: Denise Rego
1673 Main Street
Brewster, MA 02631
Phone 508-896-2737
Fax: 508-896-7587
E-Mail bcoa@brewster-ma.gov